Local CLARION Interprofessional Case Competition to be Held on February 28, 2020

Six interprofessional teams of University of Arizona Health Sciences (UAHS) students will compete in the 5th annual CLARION Interprofessional Case Competition. The case competition is an opportunity for students to gain clinical and operational knowledge that may not otherwise be received through their formal education. The 2020 case is racial disparities in infant and maternal mortality and morbidity, with real-world challenges relating to the health care system and how it might be improved. The case is analyzed by team members who present a root-cause analysis, and mentors provide guidance and technical support. 

The winning UAHS team from the February 28, 2020 UAHS CLARION Case Competition will compete in the National CLARION Interprofessional Case Competition, April 17 – 18.  The team will travel to Minneapolis, MN to represent the University of Arizona.  UA is one of 18 universities across the nation participating in this elite competition, which is designed to encourage communication among disciplines, especially early on in the careers of health-care professionals, so the values may be carried into practice after graduation. Finalists will have a chance to win a grand prize of $7,500.



The members of the 2019 UAHS first place team are pictured:
Lisa Floran, UA Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health
Belle Soyfer, UA College of Pharmacy
Alexandra Roder, UA College of Nursing

The UAHS local competition and the winning team’s travel are supported by the UA Center for Transformative Interprofessional Healthcare.